Legoland



cc licensed ( BY NC SD ) flickr photo shared by Darcy Moore

Legoland is just excellent. Completely age appropriate (for 42 year olds) and our kids. Kate knew the day was going to be grand when one of the first delights we saw was the Millennium Falcon. Sarah was a little concerned about the height regulations but need not have worried, she went on everything.

Lars and Sol kindly looked after us all again today with good company, excellent food and jests. The kids really had fun together and I even managed a few more pics of the elusive Anders during the day.

Lucy and Julie, Lars and I had some unexpected adventures on the Xtreme Racer Rollercoaster which broke down as we were right at the top, about to descend. I had been tweeting that my enthusiasm for the ride was none to great, so it was kind of amusing on a number of levels.

Anyway, we had to be ‘rescued’ and walk with staff to safety. They let me take a couple of iPhone pics (which I am sure Park Management loved going on twitter with the #Legoland hashtag in about 10 seconds). 😉

Kate and Sarah were watching from below while all this was happening. Kate thought the ride had probably been stopped as I had taken out my camera for some shots. I really wished I’d had my camera, the view was magnificent. I couldn’t even get my iPhone out of my pocket, without standing up. I thought this may make the staff anxious. On a serious note, a person was killed in 2007 on this very ride fetching a wallet that had been dropped.

Moving on, unlike the Xtreme Racer, we went on many rides and enjoyed the park until late in the afternoon when it started to rain. I was enjoying photographing the oldest part of the Legoland, opened in 1968, and the more gentle light from overcast skies when we decided to leave. No one appeared to notice this billboard below as we departed but I felt sure Lucy was snickering (in joke).


cc licensed ( BY NC SD ) flickr photo shared by Darcy Moore 

My favourite photo of the day was the penultimate shot for the afternoon. This lovely terrier below would have made a great subject if we had more time and his owner wasn’t fleeing the rain too.


cc licensed ( BY NC SD ) flickr photo shared by Darcy Moore

Checked out the history of LEGO and Legoland on the way home. I must admit to not even knowing that this iconic toy was a Danish creation. The fact that a piece of lego made as early 1958 would still link with those made today really impresses me. The same continuity as Nikon with lenses, in a way, as my D700 will work with any made from 1959 onwards.


cc licensed ( BY NC SD ) flickr photo shared by Darcy Moore

Thanks Solveig and Lars, vi er heldige kartoffel! 😉

2 thoughts on “Legoland

  1. Pingback: A day, make that week, to remember… : Darcy Moore's Blog

Leave a Reply

